DO NOT USE
Comments 22

Food Bloggers Connect 09

I spent my tube journey home last night examining the different tools my Lumix camera has to offer and that is thanks to the Bloggers Connect event that I attended yesterday at Levant in Central London.

I heard about the event from the lovely Bethan a la dirtykitchensecrets after she posted a comment on my blog a couple of months ago. The event intrigued me, not only because it the first bloggers conference in the UK but I would be able meet and put faces to the people whose blogs I have been reading for a while.

I didn’t know what to expect and was a little nervous walking in there on my own not knowing anyone but all nerves were shattered once I started talking. It wad a great event and I met some lovely people, some of who’s blogs I am not familiar with but look forward to reading!


We started with a drink and chat then moved onto the Lebanese buffet that was prepared for us along with Lola’s mini cupcakes and some of the best mint tea I have ever tasted before sitting down to watch talks from Kang from London Eater, Jeanne from Cook sister!, Jamie from Life’s a feast and Meeta from What’s For Lunch Honey? I mostly took note of how to make the most of my camera and how to take beautiful photos of your food (even in dimly lit restaurants). A special thanks to Kang who helped me understand the ins and outs of all of those previously difficult to understand technical aspects of my camera.

I thoroughly enjoyed my lunch, cake, baklava and conversations with The Greedy Diva, The Daily Spud, Get me cooking and Meals with Sarah (simplycooked)

Unfortunately there just wasn’t enough time to speak to everyone but hopefully next time – I’ll definitely be attending the next one.

Also a big thanks for the great goodie bags, I particularly like the Maldon seasoning box and the Unearthed panettone, which I am about to go and eat for breakfast.

22 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness you were quick getting this up. I’m still uploading and editing photos. Hopefully I’ll manage to write an article by tomorrow.

  2. Lovely to meet you yesterday Sarah. There were so many other people that I didn’t get to talk to either (we’re not alone in that I think!) – can’t wait for the next FBC 🙂

  3. I’m enjoying my goodie bag, too. 🙂 Glad we hooked up and I”m looking forward to sharing more ideas in the future.

  4. techboyuk says

    It was great to meet you yesterday.

    The mint tea was very good wasn’t it.

    I’ve just read your blog and I can now match you to it! I was reading it last week!

    I especially like your posts on:

    The Ivy – I would like to go there just to experience the building.

    Goodwood Revival Meeting – I have been to a few of the Goodwood Festival of Speed events, but not the Revival meetings yet.

    I posted my review of yesterday here (http://www.getmecooking.com/blog/review-of-food-bloggers-connect-london-november-2009). I should have taken some photos.

    Hope to see you at the next one 🙂

    • Food for think says

      I’ll get looking at your review. The Ivy is a great experience, I’d definitely recommend it.

  5. Oops, for some reason I thought cup cakes were within goodie bags, so didn’t take one! They look so gooood!

    Enjoyed the event, didn’t get to talk to as many people as I’d intended, had a mild headache that just wouldn’t shift, so wasn’t feeling 100% but did enjoy chatting to a few new faces.

    x x x

    • Food for think says

      Oh no! I wish the cupcakes were in the goodie bags!

      I think everyone has said the same
      about not being able to speak to everyone else
      so thinking it would be good to arrange another one soon!

  6. Hey Sarah! Nice to have met you yesterday, even if we only chatted briefly – we should definitely organise a dinner for those of us in London sometime soon 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the event and I agree, that mint tea was wonderful – would like that chap to come and pour some for me at home after every meal 🙂

    • Food for think says

      Hi Jeanne,

      Nice to meet you too – it is a shame that we only managed to chat briefly, it was a great event though. I hope we can arrange a dinner for London bloggers soon (I’m away for a month from 24th December so may have to do before or the end of Jan/beginning of Feb!) The mint tea was a delight, i’ll be trying to recreate it soon no doubt.

  7. Hi Sarah, It was so great to meet you! Lovely post – I look forward to tuning in regularly, and hopefully see you again soon.

    • Food for think says

      Lovely to meet you too! What is your Twitter name? Be good to keep in contact.

  8. Pingback: What I saw at the Inaugural Food Blogger Connect. « London Eater – London food blog and restaurant reviews

  9. hope you enjoyed FBC 09. I learnt so much from there and really glad I managed to attend it 🙂 did u like the LOLA’s cupcakes? I was so flustered at the start of the event, worrying that they hadn’t arrived on time! 🙂 x

  10. So happy you came and even happier that you had a great time! It was so informative and helpful to all of us, but the best thing was meeting and getting to know all those other food bloggers! And we all wished it could have gone on and on which is why next year’s will be 2-3 days long! yay!

    Thanks for the fab write up and pics and can’t wait to see you again!

    • Food for think says

      Good to meet you too, I hope you got back to the Netherlands ok and that you enjoyed London! x

  11. Pingback: FBC, Part 1: Thank you LORD, I’m not a freak! | Kitchen Butterfly

  12. Hello, I’m not sure we managed to speak on Saturday, apparently there were at least 3 Sarahs but I managed to miss both of the other 2. Come find me on Twitter or at the blob and we can swap notes!

    • Food for think says

      Hello, I don’t believe we did. I met the other Sarah but wasn’t aware that there were three of us! I’ll definitely go and find you on Twitter. x

  13. Pingback: FBC09 Review Round-Up « Food Blogger Connect

  14. Lovely write up and great photos. It really was a great day, hope we can meet up again in 2010!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.